HAI Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Snap-Link > Snap-Link Mobile for iPhone
  Active Topics Active Topics
  Login Login

Camera Server-SNAPLINK ISSUE

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
palbright View Drop Down
Dealer
Dealer


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 105
  Quote palbright Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Camera Server-SNAPLINK ISSUE
    Posted: 03 Jul 2010 at 1:42am

I have a site that I just finished installing 3 Camera Servers, 1 4 Channel HAI NDVR, and a 16 Channel DVR.  I am able to connect with PC Access thru the Net, and SNAP LINK.  However when I go to view the camera servers it is not finding them.  Did I miss some additional port forwarding?  If so what is the port that is used?

I am able to see the 4 devices when I connect within the Network in the home.  Outside seems to be an issue.
 
example-
 
Router                  192.168.8.10
 
Port forwarding:

HAI   4369-4370    Both UDP&IP           192.168.8.10
 
 
 
Controller             192.168.8.10
Camera Server 1  192.168.8.21  password is default
Camera Server 2  192.168.8.22  password is default
Camera Server 3  192.168.8.23  password is default
4 Channel NDVR   192.168.8.20  going to default unit-password changed but not documented.
 
I am able to connect to (DNS_NAME) with no trouble and SNAPLINK with no trouble. Please advise.
Back to Top
aaron.ard View Drop Down
HAI - Auto Studio Admin
HAI - Auto Studio Admin
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 599
  Quote aaron.ard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2010 at 8:50am
Are you having problems with Snap-Link for your PC, or are you having problems with SnapLink for iPhone?

I suspect you are talking about SnapLink for the PC, if so, this is the wrong forum, and I'll move it into the Dealer Support Area. This forum is only for SnapLink for iPhone.

To access those camera / camera servers that are on the internal LAN, you are going to need to go into each of their setup pages, and give each one a unique port. Then you're going to need to go into your router and port forward each of those ports.

Aaron
Aaron Ard
Home Automation, Inc.
Embedded Systems Engineer
Back to Top
palbright View Drop Down
Dealer
Dealer


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 105
  Quote palbright Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2010 at 11:26am
Sorry Aaron, yes it is SNAP LINK for PC.  I can access the camera servers while on site or when I remote in to the Desktop on site.  However its out side that I can not see the camera servers.  SNAP LINK it's self works, it is only when I open the camera link that it does not see it.  So how would I configure the camera servers with the router for port forwarding the unigue port?
Back to Top
aaron.ard View Drop Down
HAI - Auto Studio Admin
HAI - Auto Studio Admin
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 599
  Quote aaron.ard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2010 at 5:17pm
You're going to have to give each Camera server or NDVR their own port. Usually it's done in their setup webpage.

Camera Server 1 : 8081
Camera Server 2 :8082
Camera Server 3 :8083
NDVR: 8084

I can't give you step-by-step directions, because I don't have any of these units here at home.

After you have given them each their own Port, you'll have to go into your router, and add a port forwarding rule for EACH camera server or NDVR. Every router is different, but since you apparantly have it working for the omni, just do it the same way

Then in SnapLink, the URL to access each camera server is going to be something like

http://YOUREXTERNALIP:PORT
e.g.
http://72.123.123.123:8081

Aaron
Aaron Ard
Home Automation, Inc.
Embedded Systems Engineer
Back to Top
palbright View Drop Down
Dealer
Dealer


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 105
  Quote palbright Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2010 at 9:51pm
So it would look something like this:
 
Application  Start to End   Protocal  IP Address  Enable Port Forwarding
 
HAI             4369  -  4370    BOTH   192.168.2.10   YES  -  This is for the Control
CS1            8081  -  8081    BOTH   192.168.2.21   Yes  -   This is for Camera Server #1
CS2            8082  -  8082    BOTH   192.168.2.22   Yes  -   This is for Camera Server #2
CS3            8083  -  8083    BOTH   192.168.2.23   Yes  -   This is for Camera Server #3
4CH NDVR  8084  -  8084    BOTH   192.168.2.20   Yes  -   This is for 4 CH NDVR

So in Snap Link for configuration it would be the http://DNS IP:PORT
 
Etherfast® Cable/DSL Router by LinkSYS BEFSR41 firmware 2.00.02 Firmware Version: 2.00.02
 
What else do I need to configure?  And can I do this via remote access?
 
Thanks
Back to Top
aaron.ard View Drop Down
HAI - Auto Studio Admin
HAI - Auto Studio Admin
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 599
  Quote aaron.ard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jul 2010 at 10:21am
Yea, it should look something like that. You'll need to be on site to make the changes, since you can't access the units remotely.

Aaron
Aaron Ard
Home Automation, Inc.
Embedded Systems Engineer
Back to Top
palbright View Drop Down
Dealer
Dealer


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 105
  Quote palbright Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jul 2010 at 12:14pm

In looking at the HAI 4 Channel NDVR, it uses ports 7011-7020,  however the Camera Server has other setting in Multicast- ports 6000-6022.  Do these ports have to be open as well.   I do have access to the units remotely, via remote desktop and a remote log in service provider.  So programming anything is not a problem either remotely or onsite.  It was done so I can fine tune the applications and make other adjustments without going to the site.

Back to Top
aaron.ard View Drop Down
HAI - Auto Studio Admin
HAI - Auto Studio Admin
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jul 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 599
  Quote aaron.ard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2010 at 12:52pm
palbright,

I'm pretty sure you need to port foward the 7011-7020.

Aaron Ard
Home Automation, Inc.
Embedded Systems Engineer
Back to Top
palbright View Drop Down
Dealer
Dealer


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 105
  Quote palbright Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2010 at 9:33pm
I have it forwarded for ports 7011 thru 7020 for both on Protocal.  SNAP LINK works fine remotely.
Back to Top
palbright View Drop Down
Dealer
Dealer


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 105
  Quote palbright Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jul 2010 at 3:26pm
I have the 3 camera servers working now, however having issues with the 4 ch NDVR.  Can see it locally, port forwarding is configured.  However can not see the unit outside the local network.  I have followed the set up instructions.  Any pointers?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down